Mexican Presidential Election Report

June 2024

  • By
  • Jun 04, 2024
  • EM Latam Mexico
Download PDF Printable Version

To read the full report, please download PDF.

On 2nd June, Mexico held general elections for president, all the seats at the Congress (being 128 for the Senate and 500 for the Lower House), 9 governors, as well as the election for local legislative in all the 32 Mexican states.


Ms. Claudia Sheinbaum (“Seguimos Haciendo Historia” – Morena-PT-PVEM) won the presidential election. The official outcome is expected to be released on this 5th June, but preliminary results (95.2% of ballots counted) show a landslide victory of Ms. Sheinbaum with nearly 59% of the votes, being more than 30 percentage points ahead of her main competitor Ms. Xóchitl Gálvez (“Frente Amplio por México” – PAN-PRI-PRD) with 28%, and Jorge Álvarez Máynez (Movimiento Ciudadano) with 10.5%.

I understand that any materials on this website have been produced only for persons regarded as professional investors (or equivalent) in their home jurisdiction and in jurisdictions which the MUFG entity producing the material is permitted to do so under applicable laws, rules and regulations.

I also understand that all materials on this website are not investment research or investment advice.